NSBM Sports Fiesta 2024, an annual sporting extravaganza hosted by NSBM Green University, culminated in its grand finale on February 20th, 2024, at the NSBM Phase 2 Ground. This vibrant event, which commenced on February 1st, 2024, showcased the exceptional sportsmanship and talent of our students throughout three weeks, featuring competitions spanning over 15 sports.

The grand finale was organised as three sessions: the Opening Ceremony, the Morning Session, and the Closing ceremony. The event commenced with the ceremonial lighting of the Olympic Lamp. As the day unfolded, it comprised many festivities.

The morning session of the NSBM Sports Fiesta 2024 grand finale was packed with thrilling events, including the finals of the 1500m and 100m races for both men and women. The excitement was amplified by the NSBM non-academic staff 4x100m relay, alumni relay, and invitational relays featuring universities and schools. Adding to the vibrant atmosphere, the event comprised a captivating band display and a mesmerising performance by the NSBM Dancing Club that showcased their talent and energy to the delight of the audience.

The Closing Ceremony began with a vibrant welcome parade led by the band, heralding the arrival of esteemed guests. Senior Deputy Inspector General of Police, Tourism, and Investment, Mr. S. W. Senarathne, honoured NSBM Sports Fiesta 2024 as the esteemed Chief Guest. He was welcomed by the Vice Chancellor of NSBM Green University, Prof. E. A. Weerasinghe, along with the Deputy Vice Chancellor, Prof. Chaminda Rathnayake, the Head of Academic Development and Quality Assurance, Prof. Baratha Dodankotuwa, and the Deans of the faculties.

The highlights of the closing ceremony were martial arts demonstrations, calisthenics show, academic staff 4x100m men and women relays and 4x100m (Men) Relay and 4x400m Men and Women Relays. The culmination of these events was marked by the awarding ceremony recognising the outstanding achievements of participants.

Congratulations to our champions, the Citrine Warriors, for claiming the overall title! Ruby Adventurers and Emerald Fighters showcased commendable performances, securing second and third places, respectively.